Alternatives to Facebook’s broken “Suggest to Friends” feature

You may have noticed that the option to “suggest page to friends” has been removed from Facebook Pages for non-admins.

The feature still appears to page admins; however, it doesn’t seem to be working, and hasn’t worked in over a month.

So how can you suggest a page to your friends with this feature removed?

1. Use the “Share” feature. On the left side of Facebook Pages, look for the share link:

share facebook page with friends

When you click Share, you have the option to post a link to the page on your personal profile (which means it will show up on your wall & in the newsfeed of your friends):

share page with friends

You can also choose to “Send as a Message Instead” to invite specific friends to like a Page. This is the closest thing to “suggest to friends” currently available.

2. In the status box, type the @ symbol followed by the first few letters of the page name (you have to “like” the page before you can do this):

how to post link to facebook page with @ symbolChoose the page you want to suggest and facebook will create a link to the page:

how to link to facebook page to suggest to friendsOnce you click “Share,” the post will have a link to the page you are trying to promote. When you tag a Page this way, it shows up in your newfeed, on your wall, and on the wall of the tagged Page.

There are still ways to suggest pages to your friends, and page admins- your friends aren’t ignoring you, they probably are not receiving your page suggestion.

Personally, the last page suggestion I received was on January 22 of this year.

Any other ideas on suggesting pages to friends?

10 thoughts on “Alternatives to Facebook’s broken “Suggest to Friends” feature

  1. Thank you for posting this; I’ve been tracking what is happening and got your article via a Google Alert I have set up for “suggest to friends”. Here’s an article I wrote a few weeks ago about it, with interesting links. http://creativebizguru.com/suggest-to-friends/

    I hope FB gets this sorted out asap.
    many thanks,
    LisaBeth

  2. Thanks LisaBeth! Great article on your site as well, and I’m now following your facebook page for further updates 🙂

    -Lauren Coudrain

  3. People can even get new things for their games online as they come out.
    After all, the person you do it to could very well be your boss.
    So, use the essential techniques into the Hispanic industry in the country that their rapid increase is unable to be restricted.

  4. Hi there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading
    your posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums
    that cover the same subjects? Thanks for your time!

  5. An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment.
    I do think that you need to write more about this issue, it might not be a taboo subject but usually people do not
    speak about these subjects. To the next! Many thanks!
    !

  6. Regular daily activities such as riding in the car or folding laundry together can
    also be excellent times to talk. So make sure to brush your teeth before even thinking about oral sex.
    Most women need to be turned on for a little while
    before direct clitoral stimulation can be pleasurable.

  7. Hey thеre just happened upοn your blog via Bing after I entered in,
    “Alternatives to Facebooks broken Suggest to Friends feature ” or
    something similaг (can’t quite remember exactlу).
    In аny case, I’m glad I found it simply beсause your content is
    exactly what I’m searchіng for (writіng а
    university paper) and I hope you don’t mind if I gather some information from here and I will of course crеdit you as the source.

    Appгeciate it.

  8. І’m startinǥ a neա internеt blog directory and
    ԝas wondering if I can submit your blog? I’m trying to mature my directory slowly
    by hand sߋ that it retains quality. I will maҡe sure and pսt your website in the appropriate category and I’ll also սѕe, “Alternatives to Facebooks broken Suggest to Friends feature ” as yoսr anchor text.
    Bе sure to let me know if thiѕ is acceptable with you by mailіng me at:
    angelinaгayford@moose-mail.com. Bless you

  9. wedding decoration, photography, videography, wedding stages, mehndi stages, house lightings, marque hire, table decoration, photo album for wedding, wedding makeup, in birmingham http://www.crystalweddingservice.net

  10. Appreciating the time and effort you put into your blog and detailed information you offer.

    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that
    isn’t the same old rehashed information. Wonderful read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

